About This Author

Request Author Booking

Kirsty Murray
Primary (All Years) | Secondary (All Years)

Kirsty Murray is a multi-award winning author of more than 20 books for children and young adults. Her eleven novels include many much loved Australian historical fiction including Bridie’s Fire, India Dark and The Year It All Ended as well as the time-slip adventures The Four Seasons of Lucy McKenzie and Market Blues. Kirsty has also written popular non-fiction books such as the CBCA Honour Book Topsy Turvy World. Kirsty’s recent releases include Kids Who Did – Real Kids Who Ruled, Rebelled, Survived and Thrived and the warm and funny picture book When Billy was a Dog.


Books by Kirsty Murray

When Billy Was a Dog

Best Suited for ages 3+ years
Billy wants a dog. He really really really wants one. Billy’s parents aren’t so sure. So one morning, Billy takes matters into his own paws.

Puddle Hunters

Best Suited for ages 3+ years
When the rain stops it’s time to go puddle hunting. Ruby and Banjo and Mum go up the street, and into the park, over the bridge and down to the river flats where the puddles lie waiting

Kids Who Did: Real Kids who Ruled, Rebelled, Survived and Thrived

Best Suited for ages 10+ years
When the future looks dark, courageous kids bring light and hope into the world. Forty true stories celebrate kids who have protested, prayed, rebelled, saved lives, earned a fortune, lost everything, become world-famous, or fought to survive war and oppression

The Year It All Ended

From one of our most gifted storytellers, a novel about the impact of war on those left behind, set in Australia and Europe in 1918-19.

Eat the Sky, Drink the Ocean

Best Suited for ages 11+ years
A collection of sci-fi and fantasy writing, including six graphic stories, showcasing twenty stellar writers and artists from India and Australia

Right Sidebar Ad Banner

Our Partners